The F4UAE Championship has had a large list of talented racing drivers come through the category since its inception in 2016. Here is an outline of all the drivers we've had the privilege of welcoming into the F4UAE pitlane family.



Many years in the planning, the F4UAE Championship was launched on February 2, 2016 under the Burj Khalifa, officially began with a non-championship round in October 2016 at Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi. The official championship consisted of five rounds, 18 races with 15 drivers (from 13 countries) competing for points.

South African Jonathan Aberdein claimed the inaugural F4UAE Championship title for Team Motopark, teammate Logan Sargeant (USA) came second and took rookie honours, and Team Motopark from Germany was the Teams Champions. Five different drivers won races during 2016/2017 including Aberdein, Sean Babington, Sebastián Fernández Wahbeh, Fabio Scherer and Leonard Hoogenboom.

The inaugural season also saw three GCC drivers compete, including the UAE’s Saif ben Sulayem, and Qataris Ahmed Al Muhannadi and Abdrulahman Tolefat. Al Muhannadi won the Best Performing GCC Driver while also finishing an impressive fourth place outright on points.

2016 2017 Points Table

Here’s some of the standout drivers of the season and how they’ve progressed since racing in F4UAE:


The son of Chris Aberdein – an Audi and Porsche works driver in South Africa in the 1990s – Jonathan was the standout driver of Season #1. He came to F4UAE from a rookie season in the ADAC Formel 4 Championship, and went on to win 14 races, claim two other podium finishes, and was fastest in all five official qualifying sessions; he lead the championship points from the get-go.

In 2017 he moved back to the German F4 championship where he finished 9th outright, then up to the F3 European Championship in 2018 with a 12th-placed finish before moving into DTM. For 2019, the South African raced for Audi Sport Team WRT and scored three top-5 race finishes and eight top-10 race finishes to complete the season 10th outright. In 2020 he raced for BMW Team RMR with 12 top-10 finishes and two top-fives, but with DTM coming to a close we now wait to see what 2021 has in store for our inaugural champion.

Instagram > @j_aberdein

Aberdein 21  Aberdein Podium  Aberdein DTM


In 2015, Logan took the Karting Federation Junior championship before jumping into openwheelers with F4UAE in 2016. He was a fierce rival to his teammate Aberdein, finishing second outright in his rookie season with 15 race podiums and overall rookie honours.

In 2017, he joined Carlin to run the British F4 Championship finishing third outright behind fellow F4UAE racer Oscar Piastri. The following year he drove for R-ace GP in the Formula Renault Eurocup to finish fourth, and in 2019 Logan returned to Carlin for the FIA F3 Championship where despite coming a lowly 19th outright, finished 3rd in the Macau Grand Prix. This year Logan again raced in the FIA F3 Championship but for Prema Racing - as Piastri's teammate - where he finished third outright, scored two race wins (Silverstone and Spa), six podiums and three pole positions.

Instagram > @logansargeant

2017F4UAE ACP5894 Aberdein Sargeant Sargeant Sargeant Champagne copy


The Australian claimed multiple karting titles in various national championships before moving into European and other CIK-FIA sanctioned karting championships with Ricky Flynn Motorsport in 2015. In 2016 he made his openwheeler debut with Dragon F4 and despite only doing three rounds, went on to impress significantly in Europe. Claiming two podiums to take sixth in the F4UAE Championship, Oscar joined Arden that year for the British F4 Championship where he took six wins, six pole positions and finished runner-up ahead of Sargeant.

The following season he moved into Formula Renault Eurocup with Arden to finish ninth outright, but it was 2019 that was his breakout year. Taking the title for R-ace GP, he scored a total of seven race wins, five pole positions and was crowned champion at the final round at Yas Marina Circuit – the circuit where he made his openwheeler debut.

Joining Prema for the 2020 F3 Championship, the Australian won the title by claiming two wins and six podiums in 18 races and will step up to F2 in 2021 with Prema, replacing the departing Mick Schumacher who moves up into Formula 1.

Instagram > @oscarpiastri

Oscar Profile  Oscar Win  Oscar FRen


Having raced in both the ADAC Formel 4 and Italian F4 Championships in 2016, Fabio came to F4UAE in 2017 to finish eighth outright. He went back to the German F4 championship that year with US Racing where he finished the season fifth ahead of Aberdein, and then progressed up to F3. In 2018 his efforts in the F3 European Championship – the year Mick Schumacher won – resulted in 14th outright (and one podium) and in 2019 joined the Sauber Junior Team in the FIA F3 Championship to finish 17th, slightly ahead of Sargeant. 2020 saw Fabio race in DTM with Audi Sport Team WRT as a rival to Aberdein to finish 16th.

Instagram > @fabioscherer13

F4UAE FabioScherer Testing  Scherer DTM  Scherer F3


Having only joined F4UAE for the final round in 2017, he impressed from the start claiming victory in the final race of the season for Team Motopark. That year he dabbled in both the ADAC Formel 4 Championship and Italian F4 Championship before finding his feet out of openwheelers.

In 2018 he competed in the Michelin Le Mans Cup and was crowned LMP3 champions for DKR Engineering (three race wins, five podiums). Despite appearances in the European Le Mans Series, the F3 Asian Championship and the Audi Sport R8 LMS Cup (where he took three wins), 2020 again saw the Dutch racer outrun his rivals by taking out the LMP2 Asian Le Mans Series title.

Instagram > @leonardhoogenboom

F4UAE Round 5 Leonard Hoogenboom  LMP2 Champions scaled 1024x682  Hoogenboom ALMS