2022 F4UAE Class Photo_Small.jpg


In 2022, the F4UAE Championship will have its biggest driver line up in its history, with 27 drivers racing across 12 teams for the first round this week at Yas Marina Circuit. Dubai-based Xcel Motorsport is the only team to have entered F4UAE every season, from the first ever race in 2016 where there were just six cars on the grid to this weekend which sees 27 cars lining up to start Season #6.

2022 is also the first season of the 2nd-Gen Tatuus T-421 chassis, with F4UAE being the first championship in the world to debut the car with an exciting mix of both rookies and returning champions competing across the five championship rounds.

Here’s how the grid will look for the first round of 2022.

With longstanding experience entering teams in FIA Formula 2, FIA Formula 3, and the Formula Regional Asian Championship, 2022 will be the first time that the UK-based openwheeler operation has competed in F4UAE.

#4 Alex Dunne (Ireland) Alex made his car racing debut in 2021 under Pinnacle Motorsport, claiming one podium in Spanish F4 and two podiums in ADAC F4 last year. His karting highlights include winning the WSK Champions Cup (OK Junior). 

#5 Oliver Gray (UK) Oliver claimed two wins in 2021 British F4 under Fortec Motorsport and competed in six races in Italian F4 with BVM Racing. He won the Motorsport UK Kartmasters Grand Prix in 2019 (X30 Junior) and the British Kart Championship (X30 Junior). 

The reigning champion team from 2021, CRAM Motorsport won their first F4UAE drivers’ championship with Enzo Trulli – son of former F1 driver Jarno – who also took home rookie honours.

#27 Ricardo Escotto (Mexico) – Ricardo is making his single seater debut with F4UAE this year. He spent 2020 in various karting series across the USA and the end of 2021 testing F4 cars.

#33 Anshul Gandhi (India) – Anshul contested just 3 races in Spanish F4 in 2021 for GRS Team which was his single-seater debut, while the 2022 F4UAE Championship will be his first full season in openwheelers. Anshul’s karting highlights include winning the 2020 IAME Series UAE (X30 Junior).

The longest running team in F4UAE, Xcel Motorsport has entered every season since 2016 and have twice won the drivers, rookie and teams champion titles.

#6 Nandhavud “Jem” Bhirombhakdi (Thailand) – Jem is a multiple national champion in Thailand, including winning the Rok Cup Thailand 2020 title. He’s making his single seater debut this year in F4UAE.

#11 Ismail Akhmedkhodjaev (Uzbekistan) Ismail is another driver making his single seater debut in F4UAE 2022, having raced in the FIA European Karting Championship in the OK category. He is the first driver from Uzbekistan to race in F4UAE.

#24 Jamie Day (UAE) – Jamie is returning to F4UAE for his second season, after claiming three podiums and a race win last year. He’s a former winner of the Kartmasters British Grand Prix in the Rotax Mini Max category, plus also finished 3rd in the WSK Super Master Series in the OKJ category.

#28 Sohil Shah (India) – Sohil competed in F4 SEA 2021 and claimed one podium in four races

#89 Ivan Domingues (Portugal) Ivan is making his single seater debut in F4UAE 2022, having previously finished second in the junior category of the Portuguese Karting Championship in 2019.

The reigning FIA Formula 2 and Formula 3 champions, 2022 is the first season that Prema Racing has entered its own cars, despite being technical support for Abu Dhabi Racing in past seasons.

#7 Charlie Wurz (Austria) – Charlie made his car racing debut in 2021, competing in Italian F4, French F4 and won two races in the GT4 Porsche Sprint Challenge at Jeddah last year. The son of two-time Le Mans 24-hour winner Alex Wurz, Charlie won the F4UAE Trophy round in December 2021.

#99 Andrea Kimi Antonelli (Italy) – Kimi made his car racing debut in 2021 and raced the last three rounds of Italian F4, claiming three podiums. He started competing in karting races when he was nine years old and went on to win the 2020 FIA European Champion Championship in the OK category. 


#13 James Wharton (Australia) – James was the first ever winner of the Ferrari Driver Academy Scouting World Final and is making his single seater debut in F4UAE 2022. He began karting racing in Australia in 2016 and progressed to Europe with huge success including coming second in the OK Junior Winter Cup.

#57 Aiden Neate (UK) – UK-born racer Aiden finished ninth overall in 2021 British F4 with three podiums and two fastest laps, despite missing the first two rounds. He also competed in select races of French F4.

2022 is the first season that MP Motorsport has entered F4UAE. The Netherlands-based team is well known for fostering young talent and providing the perfect ladder through the openwheeler ranks in Europe.

#9 Rik Koen (Netherlands) – Rik claimed three podiums in 2021 Spanish F4 and one pole position which saw him take sixth place outright. He previously spent two seasons in the one-make Ford Fiesta Cup.

#14 Tasanapol “Tern” Inthraphuvasak (Thailand) – Tern finished fifth in last year’s F4UAE Championship with four podiums. He also claimed two podiums in French F4 2021 and three podiums plus a race win in British F4 2021.

#25 Suleiman Zanfari  (Morocco) – Suleiman won the 2019 Swedish Karting Championship in the OK Junior Category and made his car racing debut in the 2019 Ginetta Junior Championship. He progressed to Spanish F4 in 2020, while also contesting both the Spanish and Italian F4 calendars in 2021.

#55 Miron Pingasov (Russia) – Miron competed in the F4UAE Trophy round in December 2021 and raced in nine races of 2021 Spanish F4. He also finished sixth in the 2020 WSK Champions Cup and took 10th in the WSK Super Masters Series.

A new team for 2022, PHM Racing has been formed by some of the most experienced openwheeler engineers in mechanics across Europe.

#15 Nikita Bedrin (Russia) – Nikita competed in F4UAE 2021 and earned a podium for Xcel Motorsport. He also drove in the 2021 Italian F4 and ADAC F4 championships, winning the rookie championships in both.

#41 Jonas Ried (Germany) – Jonas returns for a second season of F4UAE, after he claimed two podiums and a race win for BWT Mücke Motorsport last year. He has also competed in 2021 Italian F4.

#77 Taylor Barnard (UK) – Taylor comes to F4UAE after winning the 2020 WSK Champions Cup (OK) for Nico Rosberg’s academy. He also competed in Italian F4 2020 and the 2021 ADAC F4 Championship for BWR Motorsport.


#19 Brando Badoer (Italy) – Brando makes his single seater debut this year in F4UAE after completing some F4 tests in 2021. His karting highlights include coming second in the WSK Euro Series (OKJ).


#26 Vladislav Ryabov (Russia) – Ryabov competed in the 2021 Spanish F4, claiming three podiums and one fastest lap, to finish eighth overall for GRS Team.


#42 Michael Shin (South Korea) – Michael is a rookie who is making his single seater debut at F4UAE. He has been karting racing in Britain.


#45 Martinius Stenshorne (Norway) – Martinius is a rookie in F4UAE this year. He finished second in the WSK Champions Cup (OK Junior) in 2020 and won the WSK Masters Series.

#46 Victoria Blokhina (Russia) – Victoria is making her single seater debut in F4UAE at just 15 years old. She has raced in karts for the past three years, mostly in the WSK series but also in the Karting European Championship.

#47 Nikhil Bohra (Singapore) - Nikhil spent 2021 in both karting and single seaters. He made his debut in ADAC F4 and continues with R-ace GP into 2022 F4UAE.


#96 Jules Castro (Belgium) – Jules is a Belgian karting graduate with multiple car tests in 2021 including with Van Amersfoort Racing. He plans to compete in the first two rounds of F4UAE 2022.